bjarvis: (Default)
Last year, I made a series of resolutions for 2014. So, how did it go?


  • Ongoing gym work: Kept.
  • Cutting body fat to 15%: cancelled in favour of muscle building.
  • Additional workskills training: Ongoing and in progress.
  • Seeing a career counsellor: Failed. There were higher priorities for limited disposable income.
  • More massages, fewer all-nighters & working weekends: Total fail.
  • Learning C3A square dance program: Cancelled for lost interest.
  • Cutting back on square dance commitments: Kept
  • Seeing a chiropractor: Cancelled for lack of need.
  • New glasses: Kept.
  • Cutting back on committee commitments: Kept.
  • Household improvements: Ongoing and in progress.
  • Saving $200/paycheck: Kept.
  • Slaying the demon credit cards: Failed. Still too much out-of-control spending. More focus & restrain required.
  • Updating wills, etc..: Kept.
  • Sending xmas cards: Kept
  • Finding my bliss: Some progress, but not enough.


Summary: 7 kept, 3 partially/ongoing kept, 3 cancelled, 3 failed. I'm counting this as 13 out of 16 good, so an 81% success rate. Not bad.
bjarvis: (Default)
I had an unusual dream last night.

Typically, if I remember a dream, it's because it was scary or exceedingly whimsical. This dream was more, well, relaxing & soothing. I'm not used to that.

Last December, I lost my tablet somewhere in the mean streets of Manhattan. I was on my way to catch the bus back to DC and I discovered my backpack was open slightly and my tablet was missing, presumably lost in a gutter somewhere. The contents were encrypted and I activated the remote wipe so outside of the inconvenience of replacing it, there's no harm done but the cost of replacement.

My dream: Someone found a tablet in the street, reset it to factory settings and is now happily making use of it. Somehow, I was able to send a voice message via the tablet to its new owner.

My message was simple: I have a new tablet and while the old one was very nice, I've come to terms with its loss. I don't want or need it back. I hope it is as useful to them as it was to me, and that they enjoy it in good health for as long as they need.

That's when I woke up, feeling more peaceful than I have in a while. And I do hope my old tablet is being useful to someone right now.
bjarvis: (Default)
We're only three weeks into the new year but my non-resolutions for 2014 already have a mixed record.

Good: The gym stuff continues. I'm stepping up the program a bit: instead of my usual three sets of 12 reps per exercise, I'm finishing each set with an additional set to exhaustion at 75% weight, then another set to exhaustion at 50%. So far, so good.

Good: Body fat has dropped from 20.6% to 18.3%. Yay! I miss carbs & sugar but the cravings aren't as bad as they were for the first five days or so.

Good: New glasses have been ordered. Yes, they are progressive lenses. I should have them in the next few days.

Good: I'm now transferring $200/paycheck, up from $150/paycheck, into a savings account.

In Progress: We tried to purchase a new laundry sink for the basement but haven't found a model we liked. On the good side, we scored two tall used bookcases for $20 each so our book piles are much neater.

Very Bad: My credit card balance went from $0 January 1 to $4400 as of today. That's $1800 for a new dental crown, $800 for new glasses and $3000 for a new transmission for my car, less interim payments. At least I've received reimbursements from medical insurance for the dental work & glasses and will recoup the rest from my medical flex spending account, and that $3k for the transmission is after a 10% discount. I plan to have this nearly zeroed again by the end of February.

Good: The tax returns are looking good again for this year so the updates to wills and medical powers-of-attorney will be created in March per our original schedule.

All other items are still a work in progress. More news as it develops.
bjarvis: (Default)
I'm not a big believer in new year's resolutions: if something is a good idea, it should be implemented immediately, not at the arbitrary turn of the calendar. That said, the xmas & new year's break is a great opportunity for personal introspection so new goals & targets are to be expected.

  1. I'm going to continue my gym weight training with determination. My novice phase has ended so now I will focus on development & capacity. My gym membership expires in mid-July so I have a convenient built-in deadline --and a near-certain renewal.

  2. I'm going to cut down to 15% body fat (20% currently) by May 1. Depending in how it goes, I may push onwards to 12%. More veggies & meat, more exercise, less starch, less (*sob*) sugar.

  3. I'm going to pursue additional work skills training. At the moment, I'm unsure what form that will take but I believe all education had some value so I won't turn down opportunities which may fall into my lap.

  4. I plan to see a career advisor. I like my work but I need some objective outside advice on evaluating my strengths and making possible course adjustments.

  5. More massages, fewer all-nighters & working weekends.

  6. I'm going to learn the C3A square dance program.

  7. I want to cut back on square dance teaching. It's fun but it's exhausting and a vast time commitment. I missed a number of professional goals & opportunities in 2013 because of teaching commitments: I can't afford to keep doing that.

  8. I was planning to see a chiropractor in January but the immediate physical need seems to have passed. Was it just stress or some issue now dormant? I should probably make that appointment anyway to establish a baseline.

  9. I need new glasses, probably bifocals. An appointment will be made this week for as soon as convenient.

  10. I want to cut back on old committee work. I've made my contributions and it's time to move on in several instances. I've already terminated one, reduced another and will let a third expire on its own. That said, I'm looking forward to new experiences in other board roles.

  11. We will make some household improvements. The front door is a mess, the laundry room sink leaks and we need new towels. There's more, but this is a start.

  12. Starting immediately, I'm putting $200 per paycheck into my savings account, up from $150.

  13. The demon credit cards have been slain: they will stay that way.

  14. We will update our wills & medical directives with our tax returns this spring. (Memo to self: don't die until then, much later if feasible.)

  15. I will send xmas cards in 2014 even if it kills me.

  16. Find my bliss. I haven't felt any worthy dream or goal in many years so it's time to spend some time & effort getting reacquainted with myself.
bjarvis: (Default)
I don't really get the whole xmas tree decorating thing.

I know many people love to go stalk & kill their own tree in the wild. Some go to an urban lot and purchase their pre-killed vicitim from the local pusher. Others have fake/taxidermied trees in their attic. I just don't really get it.

I suspect a large part comes from my childhood in northern Ontario. I mean, I grew up surrounded by the damn things. LIke 10-million-of-them-for-every-one-of-us surrounded. And they're not all friendly either. Ever fallen from one? Ever had one of them fall on you? Ever had one leap in front of your car while you were soberly driving home from the no-there-wasn't-any-drinking party at night totally sober? Not friendly at all.

They're coniferous triffids. And that one you have in your living room is its advanced scout for their ultimate takeover.

Sure, you've cut off at the base, but it takes a lot more than that to disable these killers. And you dressed it up in drag: that really makes them angry. Let me say this again for those of you not keeping up: You have a wounded & pissed off tree IN YOUR HOUSE.

God help you when its friends arrive to rescue it. You've been warned.
bjarvis: (Default)
...although my long absence from social media may have lead you to think otherwise.

I've been incredibly busy through November & December. I've been spending most of this week simply recharging my batteries. Is it even possible to have a negative energy level? If so, I had it. I'm back into positive territory but still have a way to go.

There hasn't been any great burden in the past 60 days, just a stack of little things. It's the proverbial nibbling to death by ducks, death by a thousand papercuts, and other similar imagery.

I don't suffer from SAD per se: it's not the length of the day which gets me down, the fewer daylight hours, the longer nights. Rather, winter implies the holiday season which further implies obligatory social events, all of which chip away huge chunks of my introverted self. It's the end of the calendar year so I have a tonne of end-of-year work commitments. The fall/winter season also has extra square dance classes and events on top of the usual cycle of club nights, all of which have their own time commitments (well, at least if one is to do them right).

New Year's can't come soon enough so I can get back to a normal cycle of routine and rest.

While I'm going to miss one of my major goals for 2013 and haven't yet found the time this week to even file the papers in my overflowing "in" tray, there have been some successes. The gym work was new as of July and has been going very, very well. My financial situation, generally healthy, has improved significantly, achieving my goals of starting a savings account and paying off all credit card debt. On the whole, life is stable. Now if I can just get a good night's sleep this next week...
bjarvis: (Default)
I recently enjoyed a flight on Virgin America. As we taxied out from the terminal to the runway, we the passengers were given our mandatory safety video, the one where they tell us not to smoke, to put away all electronic items, how to operate a seatbelt, etc.. Virgin America's version was, well, diferent:


Now this was kinda catchy the first time, but it's long and, frankly, if you're not into their particular singing/dance style (I *really* hate rap), very, very tedious. It was even more tedious the second time on my return flght, enough that I will be taking earplugs with me the next time so I don't have to be subjected to it. I already know how to operate a seatbelt, etc., so tuning it out won't compromise the safety of our flight: it's just so damned annoying.

Virgin America: Could you consider returning to the old, less exuberant safety video? It would make my flight a lot more comfortable. Besides, do you really want expose your paying packed-like-sardines customers to a mandatory video where actors have more than a foot of space between their seats and four feet between rows? Think about it.
bjarvis: (Default)
I've reached week #14 of my workout plan. It's actually taken more than 14 weeks: I had some lost weeks because of travel, conferences & overloaded schedules, but with those exceptions I've managed three gym visits per week.

And I'm happy to report progress. My weight as of this morning is hovering at 175 lbs, down about 10 lbs since I began. My percentage body fat has dropped so I'd like to think I'd have lost more weight if I hadn't gained more muscle at the same time. But how much more muscle?

Exercise Week #1 (lbs) Week #14 (lbs) One Rep Max (lbs) August One Rep Max (lbs) November
Squats 90 130 190 225
Leg Press 200 320 Maxed at 480, could prob do 520 Maxed at 480, could prob do 520
Machine Crunches 50 170 Maxed at 200, could prob do 240 Maxed at 200, could prob do 240
Chest Press 80 145 175 220
Standing Cable Pushdowns 40 125 185 200
Low Rows 120 150 165 175
One Arm Cable Curls 20 40 45 80



This is just a representative sample: I have a much more extensive workout routine than just these few. All progress is tracked in spreadsheets 'cuz I'm a huge nerd.

I've been doing 15 minutes on the ellipticals on each gym visit, but I have skipped or cut short that segment if I've been overheating or rushed for time. Today, I did 20 minutes. Thank god for audio books: cardio is the most incredibly boring part of any workout.

This coming week will be counted as a lost week since I'll be in Silicon Valley for work. The hotel has a fitness center but it won't be as well equipped as a full gym. I could get a guest pass at a gym close to the data center in Santa Clara but I can't guarantee I'll have any time avaialble to actually use it. We'll see what happens when I get there.

In the interim, despite some setbacks, I like the way things have been going. Now that I'm past the initial conditioning, I'm looking for something a more challenging. We'll see what Coach [profile] theoctothorpe has in mind.
bjarvis: (Default)
Every now and again, I see a posting on LJ, Facebook or some such thing about how we did stupid things when we were kids. Kid stuff like skate boarding without helmuts, biking along major highways, throwing lawn darts at each other, exploring obviously dangerous areas, operating heavy equpiment beyond our skill to manage. And we did it without parental supervision, without safety gear and without extraneous regulations.

The saying goes something like: "See all the stupid things we did back then? And we all turned out pretty well! Who needs this nanny state/safety crap?!"

But not all of us turned out pretty well. Some of us didn't live long enough to turn out well.

When I see these postings, my mind drifts back to the Brentha Cemetary, a small civic cemetary near where I grew up. Some day I will be buried there. I knew most of the people buried there, and a significant number of them were kids when they died. We went to the same elementary school, we rode the same school buses.

When I see postings scoffing at the "obvious" absurdity of common sense safety precautions, I think of Jeffrey, Donnie, Terry, Gord, Brian, Matthew, Ron and several others. Most died before they were ten years of age, none to age 16. I won't bother you with a list of the ones I lost in high school.

I survived, partly because of dumb luck but largely because of safety-conscious parents. Regulations have become better, equipment is (sometimes) better designed, and fewer risks to children are accepted by society as a whole.

"We turned out pretty well!" is boastful claim made by the living in ignorance of the silent dead.
bjarvis: (Default)
The joy of travelling is that I can rent a variety of cars, ones which otherwise wouldn't be on my radar for purchase or even test-driving prior to purchase.

In our visit to Seattle for a square dance weekend, we had a reservation with Alamo (they're dirt cheap) for an intermediate-class car. Alamo also lets you pick your choice of car from the litter on offer: you just check out the cars in the class you've booked and drive away with your choice.

Upon arrival, they didn't have any intermediates handy so they gave us a free upgrade to a full-size vehicle so we perused the range of larger cars. And that's when the three of us had to make a decision...

Me: We need a four-door model...
Them: Oooo! That one's pretty!
Me: Does it have enough trunk space for our luggage?
Them: It's red! We like red!
Me: Is there enough leg room for you guys?
Them: It's a shiny red! Let's pick this one!
Me: *sigh*

It was indeed roomy enough and had plenty of trunk space. There was good sightlines around the vehicle from the driver's seat and the dashboard was easier to understand than many other cars I've rented, although I'll confess I never found the trunk release button until the day we returned the car. The analog clock was an interesting stylistic choice.

Overall, I think the fuel efficiency was so-so, as was the general acceleration, sound levels, general comfort and ride. It just nice, not great, not horrid. Nice in a bland and otherwise uninterseting way. I'm sure in a few weeks, the Chrysler 200 will fade completely from my memory.

Still, $75 for four days' rental... I'm good with that. And the boys got a red car for the weekend.

Gym Trauma

Sep. 29th, 2013 12:25 pm
bjarvis: (Default)
Because of an exceptionally heavy work week and calling schedule, I've missed my regular gym visits most of the past week. I'm re-establishing my schedule by forcing myself to make the trip to my local LA Fitness this morning.

I'm still scrubbing my corneas.

Seriously, who wears leg warmers these days? Some cultural artifacts of the last century are best left there. I almost expected the guy to pull out a brick-sized mobile phone and make conversation about the Soviet threat.

And flourestcent orange sweatpants? With a lime green t-shirt? That was never in fashion. Never. It has always been a wardrobe mistake outside of a really bad drag show. An intervention is called for, but I was in the middle of my second set of crunches so I closed my eyes to shut out the visual, but too late! The image was seared into my retinas. I may need surgery. Perhaps another lobotomy.

Beyond that, the workout was largely as expected. Today is "leg day" for me and I was truly feeling it on the stairs as I left. Going down the stairs from the upper level weight area wasn't too difficult but the four steps up from the cardio floor to the lobby exit? I needed to use a handrail. When I got home, I stood on the sidewalk staring at the four steps of our walkway for 30 seconds before I could summon the courage to attempt scaling Mount House. I had half a mind to go back to my car to use the remote to open the garage door so I could just walk into the basement and flop in the computer bunker until I recovered.

The worst is behind me now. Well, at least until tomorrow morning when the delayed onset muscle soreness descends upon me like, um, well, some sort of painful descending thing. I'm too mentally & physically wiped right at the moment to compose suitable imagery. That, and traumatized by the gym fashion faux pas.

Next time, I'll wear blinders. Maybe welding goggles.

Growth

Sep. 22nd, 2013 07:49 pm
bjarvis: (Default)
I've been calling square dances for about nine years now. Well, more precisely, I was permitted to hold a microphone on stage about nine years ago: it was nearly a year before I was allowed to go on-stage solo. I remember being scared as hell and feeling utterly unprepared. I also remember thinking that I was utterly the wrong person for the role, that I should simply drop out and admit I wasn't up to the task.

This past week, I had three gigs which tested my skills in different ways.

Last Tuesday, attendance at Chesapeake Squares' club night was sparse so I called from the floor while dancing as the 8th dancer to complete a square. I have done this before, but it was mentally draining and it wasn't exactly what one might call a polished performance. This time, however, it was no more tiring than simply calling or simply dancing. I could think ahead 2-3 calls while my feet continued to execute the current call. And I didn't shame my ancestors while doing it.

This Thursday was the Chesapeake Squares' first Mainstream class night of the new fall series. There was a time such a gig would have filled me with terror: how to I teach these calls? How do I make them interesting? How do I fill a two hour dance with only a handful of easy calls? This night, however, I wasn't nervous or fearful. It was actually kinda fun. We covered the calls I had planned and not one more (hard though it is to resist that urge sometimes), we danced them repeatedly in a variety of formations and we built new sequences out the calls on hand. In short, it worked pretty well.

This Saturday, I called a combo dance for the Times Squares in New York City. The first 2.5 hours were Advanced & Challenge, then latter 2.5 hours Mainstream & Plus. Times Squares doesn't take breaks between tips: the only rest time is the minute or so required to change music and set up news squares for the next tip. I had been asked explicitly not to dumb down the choreo or speed to the weakest dancer, and I soon understood what they meant: the Advanced floor had one dancer who was a new Advanced graduate but was having extreme difficulty with the Mainstream & Plus calls --"column circulate" shouldn't crash an A2 square. Later in the evening, there was a longtime dancer who joined for the Mainstream tips who clearly couldn't remember or execute half of the calls on the list, but also had no concept of looking at his opposite for clues or even looking around for an empty spot on in the formation to fill. Instead, he just stood there, staring at a random wall waiting for someone to move to physically to an available spot. I noticed several dancers taking incorrect spots --effectively taking a hit for the team-- just so he could be placed in the nearest available position.

In all, it was a calling challenge but I did as instructed, letting go the weak square in favor of the stronger ones. I limited walk-throughs to those sequences or calls which clearly caused the bulk of the floor heartburn (eg. peel the top, remake the thar). I used a lot of written choreo for the A&C stuff so I could repeat it on demand, but went with sight-calling frequently to fix squares or just for fun (the MS & Plus part was entirely sight-called).

In all though, I think the evening was successful and I had a fun time. It's rare that I call extended sets like these: I've only done it three times before, including our own Harvest Festival Hoedown in 2010. I have proven to my own satisfaction that I have sufficient choreography, workshop material, choreographic variety and a musical palette for such extended dances and sufficient mental & physical stamina to keep focussed beginning to end. Times Squares is a good club and I hope to work with them again some time soon. If nothing else, I'll see many of their dancers at upcoming square dance festivals across the next few months.

To make a long story short ("Too late!"), I've survived a compressed work schedule, a series of demanding calling scenarios, extended travel and much more this past week without significant angst or last-minute panic attacks. I entered into each event as prepared as I believed I needed to be, along with some safety margin just in case. I left each without the sense of explosive decompression I knew only too well several few years ago. I hesistate to say this has become routine, but it has become --finally-- familiar enough that it doesn't trigger excess anxiety or stress. I'm going to call that "maturity" and "experienced."

There is, naturally, still so much more to learn and experience. I'm happy however that I've finally reached my personal goal: a of stable performance of several challenging calling situations without excessive strain. From here on it, it's dessert time!
bjarvis: (Default)
I purchased a membership with LA Fitness on July 12, 2013. I had been working out with dumbbells and home exercise equipment periodically for nearly a year prior, but it was time to get serious with a real workout, a dedicated schedule and a plan.

Being a nerd and a project manager, I naturally had to measure & track, well, nearly everything. Today was a self-appointed measurement & check-in date to evaluate progress, timed to conclude my first full week back after a one week hiatus while vacationing at the trailer. Just before going to the trailer, per my workout plan created by [profile] theoctothorpe, I did my one-rep maximum, seeing how much weight I could lift if only doing one repetition instead of my usual three sets of twelve.

I'm mightily impressed how much I can lift on the one-rep max. For two of the machines I use regularly, I maxed out their weight stacks but could still push further.

Here's a sampling of progress. There were other exercises of course but I won't bother you with the entire list...
Exercise Week #1 (lbs) Week #5 (lbs) One Rep Max (lbs)
Squats 90 110 190
Leg Press 200 230 Maxed at 480, could prob do 520
Machine Crunches 50 140 Maxed at 200, could prob do 240
Chest Press 80 115 115 175
Standing Cable Pushdowns 40 115.5 187
Low Rows 120 135 165
One Arm Cable Curls 20 35 45


My weight has dropped from 184lbs a month ago to 176lbs today. There hasn't been much change in my weight lately, but I'm hoping that indicates less fat and more muscle. If that's indeed the case, I'm good with it. I did notice last week as I was racking up new servers that hefting them over my head is much easier than it was two months ago. :-)

In the past 45 days, I've lost an inch around my waist & hips and added an inch to my chest. There hasn't been much change in forearms or upper arms. While my BMI holds steady at 26, my percentage body fat has dropped from 22.8% to 20.4%. I'd like to get the percentage fat below 18%, then re-evaluate how much further I'd like to go. I was hoping to see more improvement on the arms, but I suppose I'll just have to push/lift myself a little harder.

Pushing myself harder though has its own drawbacks. While I haven't vomited at the gym since my first exposure in early July in San Francisco, I have come close at least once. The trigger for me appears to be overheating: once I feel the stirrings of nausea, I head immediately to a cold shower and all is well again within 60 seconds. The cooler temperatures of winter may help.

In other gym news...

I really hate equipment that doesn't list both pounds and kilgrams. Nearly everything at my gym does, but there is one set which is metric-only. It's not hard to multiply by 2.2 to get the equivalent pounds, but that's not something I want to spend a lot of time doing in mid-set.

I'm also easily irked by the gym-goers who seem to take pride in dropping the weight stacks hard & frequently. Letting go that quickly & regularly indicates loss of control and/or look-at-me validation issues, neither of which are particularly attractive qualities. Once is OK as one tests one's limits: doing it repeatedly isn't.

Most gym-goers seem to like the Monday-Wednesday-Friday routine --that seems to be when the place is busiest. I prefer 8am Sunday-Tuesday-Thursday so I don't have to wait for equipment. I also noticed this past week there are fewer people there at 6am and 7am than I would have guessed: I thought a large number of folks would work out before going to work, and a larger group immediately after work on their way home. My latter guess has proven accurate, the former not so much. Go figure.

The men at my gym have an interesting perspective on male nudity. Our campground has open changing space and open group showers so I'm many years accustomed to walking around au naturel and showering in the open. I didn't think a gym locker room would be much different: it's a gym locker room after all, and one should expect nudity. These guys however are very uptight. Grown men wrap themselves in a towel before dropping their shorts, or wear their shorts to the shower and only remove them once their shower curtain is closed. When done, they head back to their locker, slip on their clean pants under the towel, then put away the towel. Huh? I feel like assuring them that it's ok to be a little exposed: we're all adults here. I'm fear however that doing so would send most of them instantly into therapy.

And here's where we go TMI... )

I have a number of weeks remaining on this program before we change things. Lord knows what new tortures [profile] theoctothorpe has planned for me... I can hear the "bwahahahah!" already.
bjarvis: (Default)
All of our operators are busy with other palace coups and takeovers... please stay on the line for our next available operator.

The Mid-Atlantic Challenge Association (MACA) has been a bit adrift lately. For many years, the same folks have been on the board, and the focus of that board has been limited to running two dances per year and running the Zip Coder magazine. The magazine however has been transferred to a private company so the organization agenda is dramatically reduced. Many of the current board wish to retire from it, and some have begun making noises about winding down the organization.

[profile] cuyahogarvr, [profile] kent4str and I have other ideas. :-)

The current by-laws include a statement of purpose which clearly outlines several other MACA functions, many of which have been ignored for some time either by benign neglect, lack of interest or lack of human resources to implement them. These include:
  • coordinating & promoting Challenge square dancing in the DC-Baltimore area;
  • assist in establishing a systematic procedure for teaching the Challenge programs, possibly even sponsoring classes;
  • sponsoring at least one open dance per year;
  • promote a positive image of Challenge dancing;
  • foster interaction between Challenge dancers and the rest of the square dance community;
  • foster cooperation between Challenge callers in the area; and,
  • promote special events.

In short, we've done the dance-per-year thing pretty well, but the rest of have been left unattended.

We're looking to run for board positions this coming November 2 with our own agenda:
  • sponsor at least four dances per year with both local & out-of-town callers;
  • plan our quarterly dances three years out, with a variety of callers and dance locations;
  • partner with multi-level clubs, not just Challenge-only clubs;
  • coordinate with non-MACA clubs to ensure a full booking schedule for travelling callers (and possibly sharing expenses);
  • sponsor Advanced and Intro-to-C1 sessions at some of our regular events as a feeder to our Challenge program;
  • modify the mission statement to expand our Baltimore-DC description to truly cover the Mid-Atlantic region;
  • promote the hell out of MACA and its events with every means at our disposal, including paper flyers, Facebook, Twitter, an updated web site, email, eVite and more.

There are a few other things we'd like to do, but these will do for the first year. With $20k in the bank, the organization has resources to do a lot if we can get the personnel and energy involved and directed into a new action plan.

[profile] kent4str will run for a delegate-at-large position while [profile] cuyahogarvr and I will run jointly for the vice-president position --the VP does most of the dance planning & coordination. We still need two other people to run for positions which will likely be vacated by retirements: I have a list of people we're approaching for those spots.

This is a mid-range plan covering the next 15 months, but I think we can do good things for the organization. Fresh meat is a good thing from time to time.
bjarvis: (Default)
The past half-month has been a bit of a blur, but it's been good for the most part.

We spent Labour Day as planned at the trailer in West Virginia. All five of us were there, [profile] kent4str, [profile] cuyhogarvr and me, along with co-trailer trash Jerry & David. It makes for a crowded trailer and not a great deal of isolated rest, but it was fun nonetheless.

[profile] cuyahogarvr and I stayed at the trailer for the rest of Labour Day week. Outside of some moments of stress because of a dead car battery --it had a charge but was just shy of its 7th birthday so it didn't retain enough juice to start the car-- I caught up on some rest and reading. More precisely, I caught up on some self-study, working towards my eventual Cisco network certification later this year. Still, I could have used a few extra days to fully recharge.

Work has been active. Our team has been distracted from large outstanding projects by a surge in daily problems-of-the-moment. Not realizing the wave of minor things would run on for days, we didn't prioritize our tasks properly and it cost us some time, but this week we'll be more aggressive about it: a couple of our team will be dedicated to simply addressing the daily minor things while the rest of us attack the outstanding big projects.

That said, I did get two major projects off my plate and a third nearly completed by this past Friday. I'm confident our team overall will be back in a very good position again with in a week.

Spare time will be at a premium this coming week: the Mainstream class with DC Lambda Squares continues for another two Wednesdays, even as a new Mainstream class for Chesapeake Squares starts this Thursday. I have a club night with Chesapeake Squares this Tuesday, then a six hour calling marathon, Mainstream through Challenge-1, with the Times Squares in New York City this coming Saturday. I also have a board meeting with the Mid-Atlantic Challenge Association Sunday afternoon.

Needless to say, I'm looking forward to all of these projects but it will require some heavy lifting for the next two weeks.

Vacation!

Sep. 3rd, 2013 12:24 pm
bjarvis: (Default)
I'm utterly delighted to report that I'm on vacation right now. While I've been at the trailer at Roseland Resort since last Friday, the vacation part didn't seem real until I set up the out-of-office auto-reponder for work. Now I'm blissfully plugging away on my laptop on my own personal projects without worry of distraction from more urgent work-related matters.

There were more than 750 people at the campground this weekend, a new record for the place. The staff are understandibly exhausted. The crowds were a little overwhelming for me so I was happy to stay close to or inside the trailer nearly the entire time. As an introvert, it's tough enough being available to the public, not to mention on a stage routinely, during weekdays: I come to Roseland to retreat from the world and recharge.

Nearly everyone cleared out of the campground on Monday. Currently, Wayne & JD are at their trailer, as well as the Bills in their trailer just below. Ron & Derwyn are here too, and another trailer further east of ours is occupied. That's the entire population of Rose Hill, our little neighborhood of the campground. There's perhaps a dozen other people scattered around the place. Wayne mentioned many of these remaining people were planning to depart today, further reducing the population. Yay for isolation!

I'm keeping busy though... I've finished four books, including a history of the Jet Propulsion Laboratory, a political piece on South Korea, and two books on team management. I've finally found time to catch up on some computer-based training courses I have on my computer, working towards an eventual Cisco certification. I finished one on Xen virtualization (not Cisco-related), and another CCNP-level Cisco course on network switch management. I'll start the next course when I'm finished with this posting.

Tomorrow morning, [profile] cuyahogarvr and I are heading to Cleveland overnight to tackle some minor business. We'll be back Thursday morning. Mercifully, it's only a four hour drive to Cleveland from the campground so it's not a big imposition into our vacation time.

There really isn't much else to report at this time, largely because I'm working very hard to ensure there isn't anything to report. The whole point of a vacation, after all, is to relax and let go of the mundane headaches of life in the real world. You'll let me know if something comes up, right?
bjarvis: (Default)
I have almost literally nothing to report.

I called a gig for the Chesapeake Squares in July and am scheduled for another next Tuesday. That's it. On the one hand, I'm grateful for the break as I've been a bit overextended lately. On the other hand, I fear getting a bit rusty.

We were supposed to go to a C2 workshop & dance this past Saturday but it was cancelled for lack of dancers. I had two C1 gigs in July and early August which were similarly cancelled. It's the summer: everyone is off traveling, has schedule conflicts or such. Bummer, but we knew it would happen.

The DC Lambda Squares' Mainstream class is chugging along very well. John Marshall is the instructor but he had both [profile] kent4str and I do guest teaches of assigned calls so John could evaluate and offer tips & recommendations. I need more work on vocal metering, but otherwise my session went pretty well: good rapport with the floor, clear diction, etc.. Calling for new Mainstream dancers is the hardest gig I've ever had simply because we have to work with such a limited square dance vocabularly. More than once I wanted to call "wheel & deal" or "tag the line" but they didn't have those calls yet. Imagine writing "Hamlet" with a vocabulary of 500 words instead of the standard 25,000.

This Mainstream class technically winds up in September, but we know from the call list that there will be another dozen calls which need to be taught. These will be covered in upcoming club nights with that week's club caller, whether [profile] caller_dayle, [profile] kent4str, myself or someone else.

The Chesapeake Squares is hosting an open house August 27 and hopefully will have a Mainstream class starting in mid/late-September. More news as it develops.
bjarvis: (Default)
Work has been an interesting combination of boredom & terror over the past month, kinda like flying a plane with one engine missing. I take consolation from knowing I still have at least one spare engine and a lot of experience, but it's still a bit less than ideal what with the passengers occasionally hitting the bar or screaming in fear. Very distracting, but if we keep doing the right things, we'll be soon clear of the turbulence.

My team was expanded by two extra bodies in July. The new guys are still coming up to speed, but they're progressing very well and are demonstrating the initiative & curiousity I had anticipated. There is a lot to take up, but they are pulling their weight and this makes me happy. I'll be even happier yet in a few months when they're fully up to speed and we have some major projects behind us but I need to be patient.

We've had a burst in workload this past two weeks. No single item was a killer, but the volume was more than we could handle at our regular pace. Still, with some extra hours and some judicious shuffling of priorities, we were able to tackle nearly all of the outstanding items before the weekend began.

My boss took a well-deserved vacation day on Friday so I got to play interim manager again. I like those opportunities because they give me license to speak with a higher degree of authority than I would when the boss is in and therefore might be seen to overstep my bounds. These perceptions are exclusively in my head, of course: my boss wouldn't object and our management structure for problem solving is very flat, but I am by nature hyper-attuned to levels of management, degrees of latitude and adherence to procedure, propriety, etiquette & appearances. If I ever think I'm losing any portion of my Canadian identity, here's a perfect counter-example --and perhaps one I should be more aggressive about addressing since it's probably holding me back.

One of my bigger projects this past week has been completed. It wasn't a technical challenge, but a logistical one: we had over 1,000lbs of dead or retired computer equipment in my data center which desperately needed to be removed. I needed a place to discard the equipment, I needed to have the hard drives removed & destroyed to protect our data, I needed extra hands to help heft the heavier bits (one singular chunk was itself about 90lbs and very awkward to grasp), along with coordination with use of the loading dock, a cargo vehicle and a few hours out of my business day. We got that on Friday.

[profile] cuyahogarvr and I wrestled the largest portion of this pile of junk out of the data center after lunch on Friday and delivered it to our home county's electronics recycling depot using [profile] kent4str's minivan. On Saturday, I collected the remaining eight blades & servers, rail kits and such; those were discarded this afternoon, along with miscellaneous household bits (a retired TV & VCR, some dead batteries, etc.). There is now a huge amount of extra space in my data center and in our garage. I feel much cleaner --and am delighted to strike one more item off my to-do list.

I went to Philadelphia for an overnight trip August 10-11 to attend FOSSCon 2013, a small convention of free open source software users & developers. I had a good time, although not at first. The event started a little late and registration didn't actually open until everything was in operation for an hour because of traffic delays. While I had a schedule from the web site, each hall was listed with a sponsor name, but signs weren't up anywhere in the building to identify the halls. In short, the first two hours put my inner project manager into frustration overload. I nearly stormed out in annoyance and frustration.

Then I remembered two things: (1) there was no registration fee, and (2) these were enthusiasts & amateurs putting together an event, not professional event planners. I've been spoiled by major conferences with large registration fees and professional managers held at major event hotels (think USENIX, LISA, etc.): my righteous anger at misplaced resources was wrong and utterly misplaced.

Once I reframed my thinking and focused on the content of the talks & presentations, all went very well. In fact, I was pretty impressed what they were able to do with limited resources and an all-volunteer staff.

My major take-away from this panels was a list of software packages I should examine for work and/or beefing up a resume: Salt, ZeroMQ, Jenkins, Ansible and such. Of course, I need to get through my immediate work-related projects which include Xen and Ubuntu 12 first, but I've made some notes for future. And I'll definitely attend --and perhaps volunteer-- for next year's event.

I see that the technical schedule for the upcoming LISA conference in DC in November has been posted so I have to go perusing. I've been pre-approved by my VP for registration so I'll be there: the only question is how many of the tutual days I'll sign up for. More later.

And finally, some high tech trauma: one of our home laptops died. More precisely, the hard drive has snuffed it: no computer can recognize it and it just clicks spasmodically. I've tried everything I know to try waking it up, all to no avail. Yes, we have backups of it, but they predate a number of important software installations and data files. I've obtained a duplicate drive and will take both to a local data recovery service tomorrow to see if there is any hope of grabbing at least some data from the dead disk. It's gonna cost, but it's our own fault. sigh
bjarvis: (Default)
While in San Francisco for work at the IAGSDC convention, I had to the chance to catch up with [profile] theoctothorpe who was coincidentally visiting the city for other purposes. One of the kind things he did for me was take me to the gym.

I've never been to a gym before. I have some exercise equipment at home, but for the most part, I've been riding on youthful indestructibility all these years. Sadly, I'm now 46 and my extended warranty is clearly about to expire: I can no longer spoon my way to the bottom of a half-gallon of ice cream washed down with a 2L bottle of Coke Classic with casual impunity. Getting old sucks.

Anyway, [profile] theoctothorpe kindly allowed me to tag along as he visited for his regular workout, and he put me through similar paces (with lighter weights as appropriate since he is vastly stronger than me). Squates, planks, inclined leg presses, lat pull-downs, etc.: it was a bit of a blur.

Alas, after nearly 90 minutes of working out, I was feeling a bit off. I should have recognized the signs of overheating and bodily strain. I also should have hydrated in advance and sipped water sparingly during our stay there, rather than gulping water as my body attempted to cool down as quickly as possible. I should have recognized the signs of having pushed too far, but I didn't.

And then I threw up.

Just water, but still. Not pretty. And that's why I can't go back to San Francisco. Ever. *sigh* Poor [profile] theoctothorpe was so concerned & apologetic, but it wasn't anything he did: I should have recognized the symptoms and backed off earlier. Lesson learned. Some seated rest, a cool compress to my forehead and a cooling shower later helped immensely. Within two hours, I was mostly normal again, except every muscle in my body was screaming in protest over the recent workout. Standing hurt. Sitting hurt. Lifting food to my mouth hurt. We had dinner at "The Thirsty Bear," but the restrooms are upstairs. OMFG, stairs made me hurt so bad going up *and* down. When I went to the men's room again before we left, I took the elevator.

My body ached for another 48 hours. Thank god I was nearly myself again before I boarded a plane to return to DC.

With [profile] theoctothorpe's gentle urging, I've purchased a membership with LA Fitness. There is a gym about a mile from home in downtown Silver Spring. There is also a gym of the same chain about a mile from the data center where I work so I have enormous flexibility in where I go to work out. He has also created a work-out plan for me, helping me along my goal to lose some fat around the waist and improve my upper body strength. We're still tweaking the plan, but it's a great foundation and better than I could have assembled on my own in such a short time.

In the first week at the gym (typically visiting every other day), my muscles ached during & after. These days, I don't ache during the workout, I just feel depleted & wobbly: the much milder ache kicks in the following day. As I write this, my biceps are whining at me about yesterday morning's fun.

I've cut back my consumption of soft drinks by about 95%. In the past two weeks, I've enjoyed one can of ginger ale and stole a couple of sips from [profile] kent4str's drink when he pretended he wasn't looking, but that's all. I've consumed more salads and less bread than at any prior time in my life. I haven't had chocolate in nearly three weeks, no ice cream, no fruit juice and only one small gelato. All foods are evaluated (and frequently rejected) for their sugar & starch content and their overall calorie count. Protein? It feels like I've consumed an entire caribou per week. Veggies are great and fruit too as long as it's high in fibre.

Since starting with this plan, I've noticed a handful of changes. I've lost eight pounds and I'm now fitting into my 31" waist jeans comfortably (down from 32"). When I was young, I radiated heat like a blast furnace: my ex, John, used to say I could rent myself out as a space heater. That stopped about ten years ago, but I've noticed recently that eating anything causes the blast furnace effect again for about an hour. I have a fan in my computer bunker now and have needed one in the bedroom if I ate anything late in the evening.

It hasn't all been fun though. I purchased a fat loss monitor, a small device which uses electrical impedence to guestimate one's percentage of body fat and BMI. After giving it my height, weight, age, sex (yes, please!) and body type, it determined I am 20.6% fat and have a BMI of 26. The machine says I'm significantly overweight at 176 lbs and 5'9". That was a little depressing even though I know the limitations of the machine's operation. As [profile] theoctothorpe rightly points out however, I shouldn't look at the absolute numbers but use it as a baseline to chart the delta, the changes over time. It isn't that I supposedly have 20.6% body fat, but that I can track progress to lose 3-5% from whatever the reported baseline is. That said, I have no idea what my target body fat percentage should be... I'm still working on that.

The project continues. I'm impatient for measurable results, but must remind myself this is a multi-month and multi-year project. After all, it took 46 years to make me into the slob I am so it will take time to climb back out of the hole.

January 2021

S M T W T F S
     1 2
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 23rd, 2026 10:36 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios